Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit Review + Swatches!

Hi everyone! Today I’ll be reviewing the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit, which I received for Christmas. Quick side note before I begin – my Charlotte Tilbury and Mac giveaway ends soon, so click here to get your entry in! Now, onto the review! I was so excited to try out the Ambient Lighting Edit because I think it’s a great way of really getting into Hourglass as a brand. I do already own the Ambient Lighting Palette, which features three powders. One of these powders, Dim Light, is in the Edit too, but the other five I had never tried before. The packaging is lovely, really lightweight with a large mirror inside.

FullSizeRender-24

The Edit features six powders, including highlighters, blushes and a bronzer. I heard a lot of people complaining about how tiny the palette is and how the amount of product inside isn’t worth the money – to be honest, it is pretty small. However, it’s a great way of trying out lots of different powders by Hourglass, without having to spend a lot of money buying individual powders. Here in the UK, a full size single powder is £38, so £65 for six miniature versions is a great deal in my opinion. Also, I have owned the Ambient Lighting Palette with the three powders in for at least a year now and still have a lot of product left, so I don’t believe buying the full size powders are necessary if you want to try a few out at once.

FullSizeRender-25

The top row of powders (left to right) are Dim Light, a beige face powder which is perfect for setting foundation, Iridescent Strobe Light, a pale pink highlighter, and Diffused Light, a light yellow powder which I love using under the eyes to set concealer. I love all of these powders, however would recommend applying Iridescent Strobe Light with a wet brush if you like a slightly more intense highlight. It is very natural and pretty, but I do like that extra intensity when applied with a wet brush. My favourite of the three has to be Diffused Light – I have spent so long looking for a perfect under-eye setting powder and have finally found it! Here are the swatches of the top row:

IMG_0461

The bottom row contains two blushes and a bronzer: Mood Exposure, a shimmery plum blush, Luminous Flush, a beautiful rose pink blush, and Luminous Bronze Light, a  warm bronzer. All three of these powders a pretty shimmery, but this isn’t very noticeable once they are on the face and you get a more luminous finish. I am not a huge fan of bronzer as I’m always afraid it will look muddy, so i don’t often purchase it. However, I have fallen in love with the bronzer in this palette. I use it to warm up the face and it is stunning! So natural and gives the face a really healthy glow. The two blushes are amazing too and I’ve been using  Luminous Flush almost every day!

IMG_0462

I definitely feel this palette is worth buying if you want to try out lots of different powders from Hourglass. The price is pretty steep for a tiny palette, however for six different powders it would cost you a lot more to buy them individually as full sizes. My brushes fit perfectly into each shade so I don’t struggle applying product at all and I have found the perfect under-eye powder and bronzer! These powders are soft, blend easily and look stunning.

I hope you enjoyed reading! Let me know if you own any Hourglass powders – do they live up to the hype for you? They do for me!

9 thoughts on “Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit Review + Swatches!

  1. I’ve seen this palette so many times and felt sooo tempted to purchase 😁😬 glad to hear it actually lives up to expectations! x

Leave a Reply

