The Beautyblender: is it worth the hype?

Hi everyone! I was recently in Selfridges and noticed they were selling Beautyblenders – I’d never tried one before and had heard so many good things. I own the Real Techniques sponge and have always thought to myself; how can a slightly more expensive sponge make any difference?

However, after hearing not one bad word about the Beautyblender, I decided to give it a shot. I purchased the pink original:

image

Now, first of all: it has an entirely different feel and texture to other makeup sponges I have used before, including the one by Real Techniques. The Beautyblender feels so lightweight and springy in comparison. I also love the way it transforms under water; it grows so much more in size and becomes even more bouncy.

I have tried the Beautyblender in various ways: for foundation, concealer, powder and blusher. I have to say, it really is incredible! It is so easy to stipple product into the skin with all kinds of makeup and the different shape at each end of the sponge makes it so versatile. I use the larger end for foundation, concealing blemishes, powder, and blusher, and the pointed end for concealer under the eyes.

It really gives the skin an airbrushed, flawless look, and the products I used blended in so well. My complexion looked glowing afterwards and I’m so impressed – I really feel like I’ve been missing out by using other makeup sponges!

Although the sponge is more expensive than others (it cost me Β£16, whereas my Real Techniques is Β£5.99), I really see an amazing difference and I even used less product because of the way the sponge blends so well, which will surely save me money in the long run! If anyone is considering converting to the Beautyblender, then go for it as I’m sure you’ll be as impressed as I am!

16 thoughts on “The Beautyblender: is it worth the hype?

  1. Hi great review. I’m trying to decide whether to buy a beauty blender myself as i also have the real techniques one. After reading your review I’m going to take the plunge and buy a beauty blender πŸ™‚

  2. Sounds amazing. Maybe I really should give it a go. I have always been put off with the idea that you have to damp it first then wash it after each use.xo

    • I can see why you have been hesitant for that reason, but to be honest I have barely noticed the extra effort in my routine! It really seems to cut down blending time, too xx

Leave a Reply

