Grunge OR Glam Smokey Makeup Look!

Hi guys! Today I wanted to show you how to create a couple of different makeup looks in one. With this one, you can change it up from grunge to glam simply by changing your lip colour and hair! The base and eyes are exactly the same for both and you can tailor the rest to your preference. First, I made sure to prep my skin by applying moisturiser. My holy grail is Clinique Moisturise Surge:

IMG_2355

Now, onto the makeup! I primed my skin using Benefit’s Porefessional Primer, before applying the new Maybelline Dream Fluid Foundation with a Real Techniques sponge. I’m really enjoying this foundation and wrote a first impressions post here. It is particularly good for evening or nights out as it is easily buildable and feels light on the skin, but covers well. It does tend to cling very slightly to dry skin around my nose, but hopefully with some exfoliation this will improve – i’ll keep trying! Next, i applied MAC studio finish concealer on my undereyes and on any blemishes. To apply this I used the same Real Techniques sponge (the flat edge). This sponge is so handy, it can be used for so many things! I set my foundation with MAC’s mineralise skin finish in medium, using the Real Techniques Bold Metals 100 brush.

IMG_2345

Next, I primed my lips using a Balmi lip balm (these are great!) before applying Hoola bronzer by Benefit to contour. I love this bronzer, it looks incredibly natural. I used the Real Techniques Bold Metals 301 brush to apply Hoola, before blending it out using a Real Techniques contour brush from their original line (can you tell I love Real Techniques?!) After this, I applied MAC’s mineralise blush in Just a Wisp with a Real Techniques buffing brush. To highlight, I used Benefit’s Watt’s Up! and blended it onto the top of my cheekbones using my fingers.

IMG_2357

Now, onto eyebrows! I love MAC’s eyebrow pencil in Fling and use this to fill in my brows, before blending slightly with an angled blender brush. Any brand will do for this kind of brush, the one I use is from Boots and very inexpensive. I then highlighted on my brow bone with the same Benefit highlighter as before. I’m really sorry for the lack of pictures whilst applying my base, I did take them but they all looked very similar (probably due to my lighting). Hopefully my descriptions will suffice! If you would like more of an idea on how I use the Real Techniques sponge for foundation and concealer, try this video by Kandee Johnson – she’s an excellent YouTuber and has some great tips. She does use the Beauty Blender in the video rather than the Real Techniques sponge, but they are harder to get here in the UK and so far the RT sponge has been amazing!

IMG_2365

IMG_2367

Next up is creating the smokey eye! For this, you will need an Urban Decay eye primer, the Chanel eye quad in 43, Mystere, the Urban Decay Naked 2 palette, a Charlotte Tilbury Rock ‘n’ Kohl pencil in Veruschka Mink and various brushes to blend and apply the shadows and liner.

IMG_2425

First, I primed my eyes using Urban Decay’s primer and then used the top left, palest shade in the Chanel eye quad all over my lid as a base colour. It really makes the colours that we are going to put over the top stand out!

FullSizeRender

IMG_2401

Next, I used the shades Chopper, Tease and Snakebite from the Urban Decay Naked 2 palette. I applied Chopper all over the lid on top of the Chanel eyeshadow, before blending it out with Tease. This step can look a little messy, but it all comes together as we apply the rest!

IMG_2471

IMG_2402

IMG_2408

Next, I added Snakebite in the outer half of my lid and again blended all this out. Here it is before blending, which again can look a little messy but don’t worry:

IMG_2415

Once I blended Snakebite, I applied the Charlotte Tilbury Rock ‘n’ Kohl in Veruschka Mink on my top and bottom waterline.

IMG_2419

Now, for the grunge look i applied a lot of the same liner to my lid and smoked this out using a small angled brush. For my lips, I used a Topshop lip bullet in the shade Heartbeat and blotted this, to look as though it had been applied quite quickly. I also left my hair messy for the grunge look and brushed it through upside-down to give lots of volume:

IMG_2438

You could also use a dark lip for the grunge look and pair it with black jeans, boots and a baggy t-shirt for a relaxed, no-fuss look. For the more glam look I added more of MAC’s Just a Wisp and straightened my hair. For the lips I used a nude lip liner by Topshop in the shade Ceramic, topped with MAC’s Myth lipstick and Dior’s lip glow:

IMG_2478

I would pair this look with heels and a lace dress for the perfect party look.

Those are the finished looks! I would love any feedback as I am the first to admit that smokey eyes are pretty hard to create and I sometimes struggle with blending – hopefully with more practise I will improve! I really hope you enjoyed reading!

9 thoughts on “Grunge OR Glam Smokey Makeup Look!

  1. You look so beautiful! ❤ The entire makeup look is incredible! ❤ I'm going to look back to this post when I want to do a more dramatic look hehe. Love both the grunge and glam!

Leave a Reply

