Glossybox UK February 2015 Review!

Hi guys! I have always been hesitant towards buying subscription beauty boxes as I have heard very mixed reviews on them, and I don’t really like the idea of having no clue what products i’ll be receiving! I noticed that Glossybox released a Valentine’s edition box and decided to give it a try, as I have been curious to give one a go for ages! The box cost £12.25 including delivery. It arrived today and my first thought was that the packaging is really pretty:

image

image

In the box were five products and a small packet of Love Hearts. The first product I picked up was the Wilkinson Sword HydroSilk razor, which is useful but not very exciting. I also didn’t really see the connection to Valentine’s with this product, although I know that I will definitely use it so it is not a bad product. The razor costs £9.99, so you almost get back your money’s worth with this product alone.

image

The next product was a tiny lip and cheek cream palette, by So Susan. I have never used this brand before or really heard of it, but I wasn’t impressed at all. This product costs £8 to buy and I think it is really not worth it. The whole product looks very cheap and it is tiny, which makes the product really difficult to get out. The brush it comes with is also useless. Despite this, the colours do look pretty swatched, particularly the bottom right shade in the palette (the top swatch on my hand). It reminds me of the on-trend “Kylie Jenner lip”, although it is slightly more orange toned, and would look great over a nude liner. I would probably be more keen to wear this if it wasn’t so small and awkward to get the product out – the packaging is frustrating and a complete let down for me.

IMG_2193 (1)

GetAttachment

Moving onto a more positive note, the next product is a Royal Apothic Tinties Lip Butter in the shade coral. The packaging for this product is stunning and so cute. The product itself is lovely too, a very pretty and subtle tinted lip balm that is hydrating. Not the best lip balm I have ever used, but it looks lovely on and will definitely look beautiful on any dressing table. The balm costs $14, which is about £9.

IMG_2224

IMG_2226

Another product I really liked was the Marsk mineral eyeshadow in the colour Fifty Shades, a very dark, shimmery grey. It is very pigmented and dramatic – i’m sure it would look amazing blended out with Mac’s eyeshadow Print, a matte dark grey. The eyeshadow costs £14.49 to buy, so this is a pretty good product to have in the box.

IMG_2229

IMG_2230 (1)

Lastly was a mascara by B. Cosmetics, which I did try on straight away. I didn’t dislike it, but I wasn’t amazed either. It didn’t separate too well, but is a nice deep black which is good. It was okay, but certainly won’t be replacing my current Benefit and Too Faced mascaras!

Overall, I really liked the mineral eyeshadow and lip balm, but the rest was very average. The razor is obviously useful, but I feel a little pointless for a beauty box as it’s not exciting or different to what i’m used to. I am currently on the fence as to whether I will try one more month, but right now I don’t think I will. It was nice to have the opportunity to try some different products out, but a lot of them felt quite cheap to me and just a little disappointing. The overall cost if I purchased the items alone would be around £50, so you do get a fair amount for your money, but I would only really buy half of the products myself, so i’m not saving a great deal.

Are you subscribed to Glossybox or any other subscription services? Let me know if there’s one you would recommend!

3 thoughts on “Glossybox UK February 2015 Review!

  1. Love that you’re so honest in your review! Will be keeping my eye out for any more reviews you post 🙂 I tried to mention you in a make-up questions tag but I don’t know how to do it haha! Regardless, check out my blog and do the questions if you feel like it! 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

