Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette & Real Techniques!

Hi everyone!

I recently went shopping and finally got my hands on the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette, after eyeing it for such a long time! I have heard so many amazing reviews on this palette but I already have a couple of brilliant highlighters (the Watt’s Up! highlighter by Benefit and the highlighter in my Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow palette), so was unsure if I’d really get use out of the palette.

photo 1

However, I soon discovered after I purchased the palette that I only really use one of the shades as a highlighter for my cheekbones, as the powders have so many other uses! There are three shades featured in the palette, two of which are existing Hourglass shades (Dim Light and Radiant Light) and one limited edition shade (Incandescent Light). The names are beautiful! Dim Light is the far left shade in the palette, Incandescent the middle shade and Radiant the shade on the right.

photo 2

Dim Light is a beige shade which works really well with my skin tone as an all over setting powder. I have also used this to set my under-eye area as it is a very natural shade that works well with my skin tone. Hourglass say the shade “blurs imperfections” and, in my opinion, this is the perfect way of describing Dim Light as it leaves skin with an airbrushed, glowing finish. Incandescent light is a lighter, pearly shade which I use as a highlight for my cheekbones. It is natural and pretty highlight, perfect for day-to-day use. Lastly, Radiant Light is a golden powder which I use to give my face an all-over sunkissed glow, but I have heard that this shade is also great for contouring! (Below, shades swatched L-R: Dim Light, Incandescent Light and Radiant Light.)

photo 3

Overall, this is a lovely, natural palette that can be used for day to night and holds a variety of uses, which I look forward to continue using! On my shopping trip I also picked up a Mac Pro-Longwear concealer in the shade NC20, as well as the Real Techniques “core collection” brush set, which features four brushes with various uses. I have found the detailer brush (the smallest brush) works great with under-eye concealer, and the contour and buffing brush (far left and far right brushes) work really well with my new Ambient Lighting Palette!

photo 4

2 thoughts on “Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette & Real Techniques!

Leave a Reply

