Mini Beauty Haul (Boots and Selfridges!)

Hi everyone!

A few days ago I went shopping with my boyfriend and treated myself to a few beauty goodies! First, I went to Boots and purchased some Maybelline and L’Oreal products. I have heard excellent things about Maybelline’s Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner and have wanted to try it for ages, so finally decided to give it a go! At £7.99 it’s a great price for both a gel eyeliner and a brush.

1

10

I got the gel eyeliner in the colour “black chrome”. I have tried this eyeliner and am really impressed, it lasted really well and I was also very impressed with the brush – it can be quite difficult to find a good brush when you buy gel eyeliner sets from the high street, but I really like this one. It is very small and makes it easy to create a precise line, even if you aren’t very experienced with applying gel eyeliner.

photo 2

photo 3

Right now I’m loving nude colours for the eyes and lips, which is why I decided to purchase the next two products. The first is a L’Oreal eyeshadow. I have never purchased an eyeshadow from L’Oreal before but really loved the look of these (both the packaging and the product itself). As you can see from the swatch it is a beautiful shimmery bronze colour. I wore this to a meal and it looks lovely swept over the lid.

photo 5116

I also bought a Maybelline lipstick from their new Colour Sensational Stripped Nudes range. There are 5 colours in the range and I went for Tantalizing Taupe (swatched below). I love the texture of this lipstick: it is really creamy and moisturising on the lips, and definitely doesn’t feel like a £6.99 lipstick! I have been wearing this shade nearly everyday since purchasing it and would recommend these lipsticks to anyone, as there are 5 different nudes which would suit so many different skin tones!

1213

The last purchase I made in Boots was a L’Oreal Colour Riche eye primer crayon, which I have only tried once so far so I am unsure on how I feel about this product, but I did get a good first impression after wearing it under eyeshadow – it seemed to keep everything in place pretty well! I think a real test for this primer would be wearing it under a smoky eye look for a night out and seeing how well it works.

photo 4

My next stop was Selfridges and I purchased two items from Urban Decay. The first purchase was their All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray in the “Long-Lasting” version, which I have wanted to try for a long time. Similarly to the L’Oreal primer, I have only used this once and am unsure on whether I like this product or not, so will need to test it on a night out to be sure of how good it is! The setting spray has great reviews, so I have high hopes for this product.

7

My second purchase from the Urban Decay counter was more of an impulse buy, although I have seen these before and really liked the look of them. I bought one of their Naked lipglosses in the colour “Walk of Shame”, which is a pinky nude colour. I have not yet worn this lipgloss but the colour looks beautiful in the tube. I own the Naked 1 and 2 palettes and I know this lipgloss will work so well with the colours in both palettes.

8

9

14

Overall, I am very pleased with my mini beauty haul and have been very impressed with the products that I have tried! I am also excited to try some of the products that I have taken the plunge with and see how well they work, for example the Urban Decay Makeup Setting Spray!

 

Leave a Reply

